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Publisher’s Note: The National Federation of State High School Associations is the only source of official high school interpretations. They do not set
aside nor modify any rule. They are made and published by the NFHS in response to situations presented.

RULES BOOK CORRECTIONS:
2-65-2: Intentional Walk (Base on balls)
— A request made to the umpire by the
defensive coach, pitcher or catcher, for
the purpose of awarding the batter first
base. No—pitches—are-thrown: The re-
quest may be made prior to or during
the at bat.

CASE BOOK CORRECTIONS:

8.1.1 SITUATION & J: R1 is on third.
R1 starts home as in a squeeze play. F3,
who is playing close for a bunt, cuts off
the pitch and tags R1. RULING: This
is treated the same as catcher obstruc-
tion. The ball becomes dead at the end
of playing action. The coach or captain
of the team at bat has the option of the
play or penalty. If the penalty is ac-
cepted, R1 is awarded home and B2 is
awarded first. (2-36, 8-1-1 d); 9.1.1 SIT-
UATION D: With two outs and R1, R2
and R3 on base, B6 receives ball four.
R3 touches second and is then tagged
off base for the third out before R1 has
reached home base. RULING: Therun
seores: RlI-wasawarded-home-assoon
asball-four-was-declared: Although the
batter is awarded first base, all other
runners are entitled to advance one base
without liability to be put out. Once R2
passed third base she is now liable to
be put out. If this happens for the third
out of the inning prior to R1 touching
home, R1’s run would not count. (2-63,
2-65-1,8-1-1¢, 8-4-3a,9-1-1). NOTE: this
is the same ruling as Case Book 8-1-1
SITUATION F on page 50.

SITUATION 1: R1is on second base. A
ground ball is hit to F6, who makes an
errant throw to F3, who cannot make
the catch. The ball goes to the fence
where F9 is in position to back up the
play and quickly retrieves the ball. B2
sees that the ball is overthrown and
attempts to turn the corner to head to
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second base, and is obstructed by F3
who is attempting to retrieve the ball.
The umpire signals and verbalizes ob-
struction. B2 realizes she cannot reach
second base and returns safely to first
base. R1 advances to third base. The
ball is thrown back to F1, who is not in
the circle. The base coach now tells B2
to break for second base due to the ob-
struction call. B2 runs toward second
base, and the pitcher runs over and
tags her half way between the bases. R1
remains on third base. RULING: The
umpire returns B2 to first base as there
was no subsequent play on a different
runner. (2-36, 8-4-3b EXCEPTION 1)
COMMENT: The umpire judged that
B1 was obstructed between first base
and second base. B1 has not satisfied an
exception in Rule 8-4-3 and, therefore,
cannot be put out between the two bas-
es where she was obstructed.

SITUATION 2: R1 is on second base. A
ground ball is hit to F6, who makes an
errant throw to F3, who cannot make
catch. The ball goes to the fence where
F9 is in position to back up the play and
quickly retrieves the ball. B2 sees that
the ball is overthrown and attempts
to turn the corner to head to second
base and is obstructed by F3 between
first base and second base. The umpire
signals and verbalizes obstruction. B2
realizes she cannot reach second base
and returns safely to first base. R1 at-
tempts to advance to third base and
F9 throws to third base to make a play
on R1. Seeing the throw to third base,
B2 attempts to advance to second base
and is thrown out on a close play at
second base. RULING: The out on
B2 would stand. (2-36, 8-4-3b EXCEP-
TION 1) COMMENT: Since B2 had
returned to the base she would have
reached and there was then a play on a
different runner, she can now be called

out between the two bases where she
was obstructed.

SITUATION 3: Runners are at first
base and second base with no outs.
There is a short pop-up to the infield.
Neither umpire calls the infield fly
rule. The infielder drops the ball (not
intentionally), then picks up the ball
and throws to third base. The base um-
pire calls R1 out on a force (no tag). The
ball is then thrown to second base to
force R2 (no tag). The base umpire calls
R2 out on the force. The batter-run-
ner is safe at first base. The defensive
coach comes out before the next pitch
and questions why an infield fly was
not ruled. The plate umpire calls the
batter out. The offensive coach comes
out before the next pitch and states that
once an infield fly is ruled, there is no
longer a force on R1 and R2. Since the
runners were not tagged, they should
not be called out. RULING: The batter
is out due to the infield fly being ruled,
both runners are safe and stay on sec-
ond base and third base since there was
no tag. (2-30, 8-2-9 NOTE)

SITUATION 4: R1 is at second base,
R2 is at first base and there are two
outs. B3 hits a home run over the fence.
R2 stops to tie her shoe, and B3 passes
her and then stops. The base umpire
calls B3 out for passing another runner
(a) before R1 crossed home plate or (b)
after R1 crossed home plate. RULING:
In (a) no runs are scored because the
third out occurred prior to R1 cross-
ing the plate and (b) R1 scores because
she crossed home plate before Bl was
called out. (2-49, 8-6-4, 9-1-1)

SITUATION 5: There is a two-ball,
one-strike count on the batter. The
next pitch is called a strike. Now the
umpire calls two balls and two strikes.



The catcher throws the ball back to the
pitcher in the 16-foot circle, but the bat-
ter goes to her dugout thinking it was
strike three. The plate umpire calls her
out for leaving home plate and entering
the dugout. RULING: Incorrect proce-
dure. (2-5-2, 8-1-1, 8-2-4) COMMENT:
Rule 8-2-4 specifies that the batter-run-
ner is called out if she fails to advance
to first base and enters the dugout/
bench area. However, the batter does
not become a batter-runner until she
has completed her turn at bat (2-5-2,
8-1-1). In this case, the batter would be
brought back to the plate to complete
her turn at bat with a two-ball, two-
strike count.

SITUATION 6: There are two outs
with R1 at first base. B2 hits a single to
left field. F7 throws the ball to F5, who,
along with F3, runs to the pitcher’s
plate to calm F1 down. F5 hands the
ball to F1 who has the ball in her hand
as she is talking to her teammates. The
third base coach tells R1 to run to third
base as there is no defensive player at
third. She runs to third base and the
plate umpire calls her out. RULING:
Correct ruling. Provided F1 has control
of the ball within the circle, the look-
back rule is in effect. Also, the bat-
ter-runner would have to have reached
first base — or been ruled out — for the
look-back rule to be in effect. If F5 has
control of the ball in the circle, the
look-back rule is NOT in effect. COM-
MENT: In order for the look-back rule
to be in effect, the pitcher must have
the ball in her possession and be within
the 16-foot circle, and the batter-runner
must have reached first base or have
been declared out before the rule is in
effect. (8-7-1)

SITUATION 7: 1t is the top of third in-
ning and the catcher (F2) requests that

B7 be intentionally walked. As B7 is
on her way to first base, the defensive
coach comes out and says that she does
not want B7 to receive an intentional
base on balls. RULING: Once a request
from the pitcher, catcher or defensive
coach is honored by the umpire, the in-
tentional walk has occurred and cannot
be removed. (2-65-2, 8-1-1c¢)

SITUATION 8: The visiting coach ver-
balizes 3-2-4 and the batter looks at
her playcard on her wrist. The visiting
team uniforms are red and blue with
red upper undergarments. In a), prior
to the pitch the defensive coach ques-
tions the umpire about their playcard
being black, and asks if it must match
the uniform/upper undergarment col-
or. Inb), prior to the pitch the defensive
coach questions the umpire about their
playcard being red/blue and the um-
pire says it is legal as it is considered
equipment. In c), the visiting coach ver-
balizes green 3-2-4 and the batter looks
at her black playcard equipped with a
clear window showing a multi-colored
list of plays on her wrist. Prior to the
pitch the defensive coach questions the
umpire about whether their playcard
is illegal since the multi-colored list of
plays is visible and not the same color
as the rest of the sleeve. RULING: In
a), these playcards are legal, and the
only restriction is that the playcard be
a solid color and not optic yellow. Inb),
incorrect ruling. These playcards are
illegal, as playcards must be a single
solid color and not optic yellow. In c),
these playcards are legal. The only re-
striction is the color of the sleeve; there
is no restriction on the color of the list
of plays contained within the playcard.
(3-2-7c EXCEPTION)

SITUATION 9: In the pregame meet-
ing, both coaches verify their teams

are legally and properly equipped
according to NFHS rules. In the third
inning, the visiting coach comes out
of the dugout and says that a bat be-
ing used by a home team player is on
the USA Softball non-approved bat list
with ASA Certification marks. RUL-
ING: Once the umpire verifies that the
coach is correct, the player is out and
the player and head coach are ejected.
The bat is removed from the game. (1-
5-1d, 3-5-1, 3-6-1, 7-4-2 PENALTY)

SITUATION 10: In the fourth inning
the defensive coach requests and -
against the advice of the umpire — re-
ceives his fourth charged defensive
conference. His replacement pitcher has
a) not pitched previously in the game,
b) has pitched earlier in this inning, c)
has pitched previously in the game.
How many warm-up pitches will each
pitcher receive? RULING: In a), the
umpire has the authority to grant addi-
tional warm-up pitches when a pitcher
is replaced by rule and the incoming
pitcher has not previously pitched in
this game. In b), a pitcher returning to
pitch in the same half-inning will not
be granted any warm-up pitches. In c),
a pitcher having previously pitched in
the game, but not in that half-inning,
will receive five warm-up pitches. (3-7-
1 NOTE, 6-2-5 NOTE 2)

SITUATION 11: F1 places her hands
together, then steps back as a part of
her motion to pitch. As she stops her
movement backward, her hands sepa-
rate and she steps forward as she deliv-
ers the pitch. RULING: Legal, as long
as the step backward begins prior to
the start of the pitch (when the hands
are separated). (6-1-2b)



