The largest 24 schools participating in soccer were placed in Class A with the remaining schools placed in Class B.


Competition in Class A and Class B was divided into six districts.  The six district champions, plus two wild-card teams, qualified for the state tournament.  The wild-card teams for Class A were: Boys – Lincoln East and Lincoln Southeast; Girls – Lincoln Northeast and Lincoln Southeast. In Class B the wild-card teams were: Boys – Blair and Columbus Scotus; Girls – Omaha Skutt Catholic and Platteview.


The first round and semifinal matches of the Class A Boys State Soccer Tournament was played at Omaha Bergquist Stadium with the finals at Omaha Bryan Stadium.  The Class A Girls State Soccer Tournament matches were played at Bryan.  The tournament matches were played on May 12-14-16, 2001.  The Class B Boys State Soccer Tournament was played at Lincoln’s Abbott Sports Complex.  The first round and semifinal matches of the Class B Girls State Soccer Tournament were played at Lincoln’s Seacrest Field with the championship at Abbott.  Paid Attendance: 13,321.




Class A Girls

First Round

Omaha Marian 7, Grand Island 0

Lincoln East 3, Lincoln Northeast 0

Omaha Westside 11, Fremont 1

Millard North 1, Lincoln Southeast 0



Omaha Marian 4, Lincoln East 0

Omaha Westside 2, Millard North 0



Championship Final

Omaha Marian (22-0) 3, Omaha Westside (15-3) 2

Championship Coach:

Ed Dudley, Omaha Marian



Class A Boys

First Round

Lincoln Southeast 2, North Platte 0

Lincoln High 3, Omaha Creighton Prep 2 (SO)

Millard West 2, Papillion-LaVista 0

Lincoln East 2, Millard South 0



Lincoln Southeast 1, Lincoln High 0

Millard West 2, Lincoln East 1


Championship Final

Lincoln Southeast (16-4) 2, Millard West (16-3) 1 (SO)

Championship Coach:

Linda Wilson, Lincoln Southeast



Class B Girls

First Round

Omaha Duchesne Academy 2, Hastings 0

Columbus Scotus 2, Ralston 1

Blair 2, Lincoln Pius X 0

Omaha Skutt Catholic 2, Platteview 1



Columbus Scotus 1, Omaha Duchesne Academy 0

Blair 1, Omaha Skutt Catholic 0


Championship Final

Columbus Scotus (14-3) 2, Blair (17-2) 0

Championship Coach:

Teri Schuller, Columbus Scotus




Class B Boys

First Round

South Sioux City 3, Omaha Skutt Catholic 2 (SO)

Waverly 4, Schuyler 1

Columbus Scotus 8, Grand Island Northwest 1

Lincoln Lutheran 3, Blair 2 (SO)



South Sioux City 2, Waverly 1 (SO)

Columbus Scotus 3, Lincoln Lutheran 0


Championship Final

Columbus Scotus (15-1) 7, South Sioux City (13-6) 1

Championship Coach:

Chris McGill, Columbus Scotus